You’re Asian?

tybv1

Often times, people just cannot understand the difference between East Asian, Southeast Asian, and South Asian. They always assume that all Asians look alike which is a pretty fucked up stereotype because we most certainly do not look alike. When people look at me they automatically assume I’m Latina or Filipino and when I tell them I’m Asian they are so surprised, even some Asian people are surprised because my eyes are a little bigger, my nose a little pointier, and my skin is a little tanner than what they think the average Asian person should look like. And when I say I’m Cambodian to be more specific, they don’t even know what that is so it’s a little disappointing.

Leave a Reply

