Week 7 – Master of None (late)

To start I must say that I do not watch too many television series, especially the new ones that come out. This is mostly because I feel that I like the format of movies better and do not have time for shows outside of Breaking Bad and House of Cards (sorry Game of Thrones…). I saw that there was a new Aziz show coming out even before it had been mentioned in class and I thought it would probably be another one I skip over because I haven’t really watched a comedy show religiously since That 70’s Show. But when it was revealed in class that we would be watching the episode “Indians on TV” I decided to start it from the beginning.

The show is shot really well and definitely takes itself a little more seriously than I expected. The issues of the show reveal the complex and deep nature of human interaction while also being incredibly awkward and hilarious! I immediately thought of it as being like Curb Your Enthusiasm or Louie with Aziz instead of an old white guy. But really this show separates itself in its lengthy discussion of being a minority while also being an up and coming person in his career. The issues of being first generation American and the differences in one’s life and culture to parents’ who grew up in another country.

To me it revealed a deeper truth about the relationship between my mom and me. I never really sat down with her to discuss the things before she moved here and how that might have affected her and her life. I never thanked her for making sacrifices that she made to give me the awesome life I have now! The show touches on these topics in endearing, comical ways that still feel realistic and raw to me. I think the expert shooting, direction, and editing helped lend to these dramatic moments amidst a heavily comedic backdrop.

The show also gives confused social messages as Aziz’s character Dev does not stand up for his girlfriend when a man decides to only introduce himself to the men at the table. Yet as the episode sat with me I felt that the discussion brought up by Dev’s girlfriend led to enough of a realization of the sexism being displayed here to justify Dev’s (the character’s) position. As a show it brought about the sensation that many sexist, racist, prejudiced things happen right in front of our eyes every day and still no one stands up and says this is wrong. I found this powerful and also thought it showed that nobody is perfect and that even though Dev faces prejudices of his own, that that in no one translates to understanding everybody’s struggles. We can all still learn to grow in this way and feel empathy for those around us, especially those whose lives are so different from our own.

Sorry this is late – 11/15 😦

Spencer London

Leave a Reply

